GEAUGA COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

SPECIAL MEETING

MAY 10, 2023

MINUTES

The special meeting was called to order by Chairman Dennis Pavella at 9:00 A.M. Present were Board Members Joan Windnagel, and Nancy McArthur, and Director Michelle Lane. Absent was Board Member, Janet Carson, and Deputy Director Nora McGinnis.

Laura Amick presented the ten (10) Provisional Ballot Envelopes, and eight (8) Absentee Ballot Envelopes to the Board members.

The ten (10) Provisional Ballot Envelopes from the May 2, 2023, Special Election were examined by the Board members.

- 2 ABSENTEE Voters requested an absentee ballot Did not vote their ballot or never received it Voted at the Polls.
- 2 CHANGE OF ADDRESS Changes and moves within Geauga County. Moved In Geauga County.
- 1 REGISTERED IN OHIO, NOT GEAUGA COUNTY Voters registered in other counties around the State
- Out-of-County voters verified: Registered in another County Did not vote in that County (Summit).

Mrs. Windnagel made a motion to approve the five (5) Provisional Ballots the Board reviewed as recommended by staff. Mrs. McArthur seconded the motion. All voted: AYE.

PROVISIONAL BALLOTS – OTHER/BOARD REVIEW

- 2 Expired ID
- 2 No ID
- 1 Not Registered

The Ohio Secretary of State Provisional Hotline Information Sheet is provided to every Provisional Voter.

Mrs. McArthur made a motion to reject the five (5) Provisional Ballots with expired ID, no ID, and not registered. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: AYE.

The Provisional ballots are not being accepted to count in this May 2, 2023, Special Election. Each Provisional Ballot Envelope was initialed on the back by the Board members as per the ORC Section 3505.183.

The "APRI Exception" for unregistered voters was in effect only through December 31, 2022. The APRI Exception no longer applies to provisional voters whose registration was cancelled pursuant to the Supplemental Process.

Next, Absentee Ballots and 11-S Supplement from the May 2, 2023, Special Election were reviewed.

- 4 Good Postmark: May 1, 2023, or earlier.
- 1 ID envelope correction (11-S Supplement) Social Security Number

Mrs. McArthur moved to approve the four (4) Absentee Ballots that were accepted, and the one (1) ID correction. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: AYE.

LATE – Absentee Ballots

- 2 Postmarked May 1st. Arrived after the four (4)-day deadline.
- 1 No Postmark
- 0 Postmarked May 2nd and after

Mrs. McArthur made a motion to reject the three (3) late Absentee Ballots – one with no postmark, and two arrived after the four (4)-day deadline. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: AYE.

Mrs. Lane commented that it will be difficult to process in the four (4)-day timeline for the Provisionals during the Presidential Primary and General Election. All Board members agreed.

There were no religious objections.

Mrs. Windnagel made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 9:21 A.M. Mrs. McArthur seconded the motion. All voted: AYE.

The next regular meeting is scheduled for May 18, 2023.