## Geauga County Board of Elections

## SPECIAL MEETING

## November 22, 2019

## Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Ed Ryder at 9:03 a.m. Present were Mr. Dennis Pavella, Mrs. Joan Windnagel, Mrs. Janet Carson, Director Pete Zeigler and Deputy Director Dorothy Stange.

The Board reviewed the 10-day Absentee ballot envelopes from the November 5, 2019 General Election. There were 72 ballots with good postmarks: Nov. 4 or earlier. Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept the 72 ballots. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. There were 10 late returns: nine with Nov. 5 or later postmark and one returned after 10-day deadline. Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept the one mailed- ID envelope correction. (11-S Supplement). Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept the two Out of county hospital voters, one of which was forwarded to us by Cuyahoga County. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept the one UOCAVA ballot. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to reject the 10 late returned, but give them voter credit. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. Also in review by the Board were 171 Provisional ballot envelopes from the November 5, 2019 General Election.

The Board reviewed the Provisional ballot envelopes from the November 5, 2019 General Election. There were 70 Change of address within the County, Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept the 70 change of addresses. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. There were 10 Change of name which included seven name changes and three incorrect spelling or signature not scanned in eVIS. Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept the 10 change of names or corrections. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. 48 voters were registered in Ohio but not in Geauga County. Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept those 48 voters that were registered in another county and did not vote in that county. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept the six Provisional ballots due to voters requesting a ballot but did not receive it or did not vote the ballot and went to the polls. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. Due to APRI rules there were four ballots reviewed by the staff and Board and the determined them to be eligible to be county, therefore Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept the four ballots. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. There were 12 other provisionals that the Board reviewed and found nothing wrong (could have been pollworker misunderstanding). Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept the 12 ballots. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

We had one voter who voted twice, once as a provisional in office which was a change of address and once at the polls. Mr. Pavella made a motion to reject Provisional ballot #99. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept the Provisional ballot with expired ID due to the fact that the Social Security number matched our records. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Two Provisional ballot envelopes had no signature. Mr. Pavella made a motion to reject. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

There were nine provisional voters were not registered in Ohio, Mr. Pavella made a motion to reject the ballots and Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Two provisional voters voted in the wrong precinct and wrong polling location, therefore Mr. Pavella made a motion to reject the two votes but give voter credit. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Six voters voted in the wrong precinct but correct polling location and Mr. Pavella made a motion to have those ballots remade. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. Mr. Pavella made a motion to reject a total of six fleeing voter ballots. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Ballots that for one reason or another that the scanner would not accept are as follows: A write-in vote for David Novak –Newbury Bd. of Education. Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept and Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. A write-in vote for a Kilroy was not accepted as there was no one by that name registered as a write-in. Mr. Pavella made a motion to reject that ballot, Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to approve the October 17, 2019 Regular meeting minutes. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. Mr. Pavella made a motion to approve the November 5, 2019 Special meeting minutes. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to approve payment of the following bills:

Sunrise Springs	38.00
Munson Township	125.00
Blue Technologies	187.29
Olfield Graphics	17,264.00
In Tab	759.09
In Tab	555.41
Shetler Office Solutions	15.98

Chardon Oil Co.	66.10
Connie Dustman	9.28
Kathy Blair	50.46
John Lucas	31.43
Mark Halford	91.81
Kenneth Chuha	90.48
Don Mohney	67.29
Richard Depenbrok	55.33
Dan Craig	74.12
Terrane Zion	65.46
James Mekeel	60.61
Quill	1421.34
Knowink	625.00
Shetler Printing	38.48
KMI Printing	128.75
OAEO	13230.00
Adams et al	66,385.35

Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to pay the Geauga County Maple Leaf bills:

GCML	681.00
GCML	3438.35

Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. Mr. Pavella, Mrs. Windnagel and Mrs. Carson voted: Aye and Mr. Ryder abstained.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept the following Campaign Finance Reports as audited by staff:

Pre-General 2019 Committee to Elect Craig S. Richter,

Christopher Berger for

Council, Committee to Elect Frank Cavanagh, Friends of Keith Brewster, Friends of Radtke, Friends of Skip Claypool, Jason Sutter for Huntsburg Twp. Trustee, Keep Mayor Koons,

Patricia Jarrett.

Post- General Committee to Elect Carl J. Hornung

Semi-Annual & Annual 2019 Holden for Sheriff

PAC Committees 2019 Citizens for Mental Health, Friends of

Chester Police, Geauga People for Parks,

Its Time.

Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Mrs. Windnagel made a motion that the Board follow the Commissioners' schedule and allow the staff to work until noon on December 24 and on December 30, 2019 with a full day pay. Mr. Pavella seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

The Director reviewed with the Board a letter sent by the Hambden Twp. Trustees asking if we could move one precinct, either Hambden C or Hambden D to the Town Hall and the other precinct to the Fire Station. We would have to do an ADA assessment on both locations first.

The Election day complaint at Newbury School was reviewed along with the Munson Twp. one and the Board will be looking into the matters.

Mrs. Carson made a motion to transfer \$800.00 from Service Contracts (1001-050-00 601) to Advertisements (1001-050-00-903). Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to certify the Official results of the November 5, 2019 General Election. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye. Due to the vote totals in the Russell Twp. Trustee race, this will require an automatic recount. The Board set the date for December 2, 2019 at 9:00 a.m.

Mrs. Carson made a motion to allow for travel expenses, mileage, etc. for the Security Seminar with the Secretary of State on December 6, 2019. Mr. Pete Zeigler and Mrs. Windnagel will be attending the meeting. Mr. Ryder seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Next meeting: December 2, 2019 at 9:00 a.m.