# **Geauga County Board of Elections**

## **REGULAR MEETING**

## February 20, 2020

#### Minutes

The meeting was called to order at 9:05 A.M. by Chairman Ed Ryder. Present were Mr. Dennis Pavella, Mrs. Joan Windnagel, Mrs. Janet Carson, Director Pete Zeigler, and Deputy Director Dorothy Stange.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to go into Executive Session for the Purpose of Security Arrangements ORC 121.22 (G6) (With I.T.). Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. The roll call vote was taken. Mr. Ryder, AYE; Mr. Pavella, AYE; Mrs. Windnagel, AYE; and Mrs. Carson, AYE.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to come out of Executive Session. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. The roll call vote was taken. Mr. Ryder, AYE; Mr. Pavella, AYE; Mrs. Windnagel, AYE; and Mrs. Carson, AYE.

Mrs. Carson made a motion to adopt the Secretary of State Incident Response Plan (Cyber). Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Mrs. Windnagel made a motion to approve the minutes of the January 21, 2020, meeting. Mr. Pavella seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to approve payment of the following bills as presented including Janet Carson's reimbursement for the conference. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Triad Governmental Systems	18,360.00
Quill	1,816.59
Southern Computer Warehouse	883.43
Mayfield Church	150.00
Uline	224.90
Cover One	503.80
Sunrise Springs	23.60
21 <sup>st</sup> Century Media-One	198.25
KMI Printing	143.75
UPS	8.92
Auburn Township	350.00
Shetler Business Solutions	27.98

Quill 451.94

Janet Carson 1,049.05

Mr. Pavella made a motion to approve the Geauga County Maple Leaf bill for \$150. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. Mr. Pavella, AYE; Mrs. Windnagel, AYE; and Mrs. Carson, AYE. Mr. Ryder, abstained.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept the following Campaign Finance Reports as approved and audited by staff. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

# **Candidate Committees**

Berger, Christopher – Post General 2019 Kolk, Frank – Pre and Post General 2019

## **Annual 2019**

Burt, Forrest

Bevington, Sheila

Blackley, Andrew K.

Brewster, Keith

Cattell, Joe

Dvorak, Jim

Galicki, Dennis

Grendell, Timothy J.

Hildenbrand, Scott A.

Holden, James Lee

Lennon, Tim

Meleski, Dan

Paschke, Carolyn

Rear, Blake

Urbancic, John

# **PAC and Party Committees**

- Geauga County Republican Party (Judicial) 2019 Semi Annual
- Balanced Political Solutions 2019 Post General
- Metzenbaum Levy Committee 2019 Pre General
- Metzenbaum Levy Committee 2019 Post General

The Chargebacks for the May 2019 Special Election had a difference of .03 cents. The correction was made, and the paperwork is being resubmitted to the Geauga County Auditor.

Mr. Pavella made a motion that the Geauga County Board of Elections, as required by Secretary of State Advisory 2020-01, January 24, 2020, authorizes the Director and Deputy Director to handle ballots during post-election audits and further authorizes the Director to authorize other Full and Part-Time employees to handle ballots during post-election audits. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Scott Daisher brought to the Board's attention there are 17-year old voter registrations in some precincts and recommended that the ballot allocations be increased in those precincts: Auburn Township A; Bainbridge Township A & B; Chardon City B & D; Burton Village; Hambden Township A & B; and South Russell Village. Mr. Pavella made a motion to approve the 100 additional ballots (50 – Democratic and 50 – Republican) for those precincts. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Appointment of PEOs for 2020 Primary – The Board approved the PEO appointments on Jan. 21, 2020.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to set the Public Test Date for February 28, 2020, at 10:00 A.M., and the following precincts were picked for the public test (3,222 required): Chardon Township D (965), Chardon Township A (968), Bainbridge Township A (1,230), and Russell Township A (892). Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Pete Zeigler, Director, was asked to partner with the League of Women Voters for a voter registration drive. Staff is working on getting poll workers. The Director has requested more computer UBI keys for part-time staff. Chagrin Falls School District may have a school levy for the August, 2020 Special Election. The Director has been in contact with the Geauga Credit Union for a Board of Elections credit card. Geauga County Departments use the Geauga Credit Union for credit cards. Absentee Ballot requests processed to date is 1,600. The Director feels a written policy is needed regarding challenging a voter that is changing party affiliation for the March, 2020, Primary.

Dorothy Stange, Deputy Director, reported that 20 new Marshal binders are being ordered for an approximate cost of \$25 each. The Board agreed that new binders are needed. Dorothy reported that there are 3 new Marshalls. She has prepared the letter, checklist, and the absentee ballot application will be mailed. The P.E.O. training begins February 24, 2020.

The Board with deep regret accepted the January 24, 2020, resignation letter of Deputy Director, Dorothy Stange. Dorothy served the Board of Elections for 43 years holding various positions as well as serving as a Board Member. The Board thanked Dorothy for her hard work and dedication. It was been greatly appreciated.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to accept Deputy Director, Dorothy Stange's, resignation effective March 1, 2020. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Chairman Ryder read the Resolution of Thanks for Dorothy Stange as prepared by Director, Pete Zeigler.

The Board reviewed the e-mail from Kristin Rine, Assistant Geauga County Prosecutor, regarding the process for advertising the Deputy Director Position and the job description. Mrs. Carson made a recommendation on condensing some of the language in the ad. The Board agreed on the date of March 10, 2020, for resumes. Mrs. Windnagel will send an updated ad and job description to the Board members for their review. The keys to the Deputy Director's Office will be turned over to Mrs. Windnagel.

Mrs. Carson made a motion that Board Member, Joan Windnagel, be the second signature on documents as needed. Mr. Ryder seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

Mr. Pavella made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:40 A.M. Mrs. Windnagel seconded the motion. All voted: Aye.

The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, March 17, 2020.